Site Trail Map

Freshman Awards - Freshman Horse of the Year

All recipients of SERA Awards and Recognitions must be a member of SERA and only the ride results achieved as an active SERA member apply. Only results from SERA sanctioned rides apply. Ride results from years prior to the 2009 ride year do not apply. A ride year is December 1 - November 30.

• Based on the horse with most consecutive miles
o In case of a tie, AERC points break the tie
o If at any time the horse fails to complete a ride, a new count begins at zero.
• Consecutive miles prior to pull may still be submitted
• If the horse has multiple riders, combined results of SERA member riders are used
• Based on the horse’s combined Open and Limited Distance completions
• Miles from a single ride year count
• Only miles from the horse’s first full year of competition apply.
• “First full year of competition” is defined as:
o Previous ride starts recorded in no more than one prior ride year, and
o Ride starts in prior ride year are no more than 3
o All previous ride history applies, regardless of region or SERA sanctioning
• Member must self-nominate to Laurie Underwood at by December 15